CanILiveThere Who's asking: nobody yet

Antigua (Guatemala)

Antigua, Guatemala — promising; Climate is a strength, Nature & water-adjacency is the catch.

This is the site's default weighting — you haven't told it what matters most to you, so nothing here is reweighted for you yet.

Antigua was Guatemala's capital until an earthquake ended that arrangement in 1773, and the city never entirely got over the demotion: cobblestone streets, a UNESCO-protected colonial core, and three volcanoes standing watch over every rooftop view. Sitting at 1,530 metres keeps the air spring-like all year — no real winter, no real summer, just the same mild register morning after morning. It's also Guatemala's best-established foreign-resident town by a wide margin, with Spanish schools doubling as social clubs and a genuinely thriving coworking scene. Call it the country's easy mode: a well-worn corridor rather than a frontier, which is exactly the tradeoff worth weighing in the chapters below.

Guatemala's easiest on-ramp — a colonial city three volcanoes still watch over.

Overview

Antigua is a town of 62,839 people, on the national statistics institute's projection for 2026. The last time anyone counted — the 2018 census — it was 46,054.

  • Public social-security health system (IGSS) closed to Digital Nomad/Rentista foreigners
    Yes
  • Local private health insurance cost
    65–260 $/month
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification
    Same no-titer/no-quarantine framework as dogs, different core-vaccine list
  • Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    No rabies titer required; no quarantine if compliant
  • Private insurance new-enrollment age ceiling
    ~74 (one insurer, unverified); SafetyWing 64–69 (conflicting)
  • Population with no health insurance — national
    Not yet researched
  • Distance to Guatemala City / international airport / major hospital
    72 minutes
  • Lakeshore-band applicability (Antigua)
    outside
  • Public hospital system capability
    Hospital Nacional Pedro de Bethancourt (free, national public system) — broad stated scope: general medicine, surgery, gynecology/obstetrics, pediatrics, traumatology/orthopedics, emergency, ICU, diagnostics, rehab/palliative care; mixed reviews (4.0/5 aggregate, real overcrowding/wait-time complaints alongside praise)
  • Nature & water-adjacency — no lake/coast/river adjacency
    Three volcanoes (Agua, Acatenango, Fuego) visible from town; no lake, coast, or navigable-river adjacency
  • Climate — year-round mild/spring-like
    22-27°C day, cooler nights
  • Municipal population — 2018 national census
    46054 people
  • Municipal population — INE projection for 2026
    62839 people
  • Population with no health insurance (Sacatepéquez dept.)
    83.0 % of population
  • Neonatal intensive care at the public hospital
    Open since 28 March 2025
  • Cancer treatment at the public hospital
    First chemotherapy given 7 January 2026; oncology unit still incomplete as of 29 September 2026
  • Cardiac catheterisation lab at the public hospital
    Not yet researched
  • Elevation above sea level
    1530 metres

Healthcare

Across the department of Sacatepéquez, 83% of people had no health insurance in 2023, on the national statistics office's figures. Antigua's public hospital, Hospital Nacional Pedro de Bethancourt, is free, and its stated scope is broad: general medicine, surgery, obstetrics, paediatrics, trauma and orthopaedics, emergency, intensive care and diagnostics. Reviews of it are mixed, with real complaints about overcrowding and waiting times. Newborn intensive care opened there on 28 March 2025. It gave its first chemotherapy on 7 January 2026, and as of 29 September 2026 the oncology unit was still incomplete. The capital, with its major hospitals and the international airport, is 72 minutes away by road.

Visa & residency

How you'd actually get to stay — the real routes, their income floors, and how long they realistically take, not the marketing version.

  • AML/beneficial-ownership property-transaction reform (Decreto 15-2026) in force
    ~September 2026
  • Digital Nomad visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Digital Nomad visa income threshold
    2000 $/month
  • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (remote-active)
    primary_accepted
  • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (local-active) - local income cannot satisfy the foreign-source bar
    explicitly_rejected
  • Investor Visa — asset requirement
    100000 USD (verifiable, from abroad)
  • Investor Visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Government land-reserve regime shape (OCRET)
    geographic-band-substitute
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income threshold
    1250 $/month
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (passive)
    primary_accepted
  • Restricted-zone lakeshore band
    200 m
  • Eligible-nationality list — Category A (visa-exempt, 90 days automatic)
    AD, AE, AG, AR, AT, AU, BB, BE, BG, BH, BN, BR, BS, BZ, CA, CH, CL, CO, CR, CY, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FJ, FR, GB, GR, HR, HU, IE, IL, IS, IT, JP, KN, KR, KW, LC, LI, LT, LU, LV, MC, MG, MH, MK, MT, MX, MY, NL, NO, NZ, PA, PE, PL, PT, PY, QA, RO, RU, SA, SB, SE, SG, SI, SK, SM, ST, TR, TT, TV, TW, UA, US, UY, VA, VC, VU, ZA
  • Eligible-nationality list — CA-4 freedom of movement (El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua; national ID, no fixed day cap)
    HN, NI, SV
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category B (consular visa required, waived by valid US/Canada/Mexico/Schengen visa)
    AZ, BF, BI, BJ, BO, BT, BY, CF, CI, DJ, DM, DO, EC, EG, FM, GA, GD, GE, GM, GN, GQ, GW, GY, IN, JM, KG, KH, KI, KM, KZ, LS, MA, MD, ME, MM, MR, MU, MV, MW, NA, NE, NR, PG, PH, PW, RS, RW, SC, SN, SR, SZ, TD, TG, TH, TJ, TM, TN, TO, TZ, UG, UZ, WS, ZM, ZW
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category C (consulted visa required, more friction)
    AF, AL, AM, AO, BA, BD, BW, CD, CG, CM, CN, CU, DZ, EH, ER, ET, GH, HT, ID, IQ, IR, JO, KE, KP, LA, LB, LK, LR, LY, ML, MN, MZ, NG, NP, OM, PK, PS, SD, SL, SO, SY, TL, VE, VN, YE
  • Territorial tax system — foreign-sourced income exempt
    Yes
  • Remote work performed while physically in Guatemala — tax-source gray area
    Legally unresolved; not currently enforced against digital nomads with foreign clients, as far as any research pass to date has found
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (pension)
    primary_accepted
  • Digital Nomad Visa age gate
    Not yet researched
  • Rentista / Pensionado Visa age gate
    0 years
  • Investor Visa age gate
    Not yet researched
  • Digital Nomad visa - the qualifying income must be remuneration from abroad
    Qualifying income must be remuneration originating abroad (remuneracion proveniente del exterior); income not from abroad cannot satisfy the bar
  • Digital Nomad visa - income requirement with dependants
    US$3,000/month where the applicant is accompanied by dependants, against US$2,000/month otherwise
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa - income requirement with dependants
    US$300/month per dependant, in addition to the US$1,250/month individual minimum -- same figure for rentista and pensionado alike
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa - currency-conversion documentation requirement
    If the qualifying income is received in a currency other than US dollars, a document evidencing its conversion to US dollars must be attached
Cost of living

What a month here actually runs, in real numbers — not a nomad-blog average built for a lifestyle that isn't yours.

  • Foreign-buyer overpay premium
    5–15 %
  • Comfortable settled-adult monthly budget
    1200–1700 $/month
  • Rent — furnished 1BR, historic centro
    500–800 $/month
  • Rent — 2BR apartment, centro
    700–1100 $/month
  • Rent — restored colonial house (family-sized), centro
    1000–1800 $/month
  • Rent — 1BR apartment, historic centro (general market estimate)
    300–600 $/month
  • Rent — two- and three-bedroom apartments, central Antigua (general market estimate)
    500–1200 $/month
  • Rent — monthly rate actually paid, colonial home in the centre (first-hand, size unspecified)
    750 $/month
  • Restaurant meal — comedor plate of the day
    4–5 $/plate
  • Restaurant meal — sit-down restaurant main course
    40–80 GTQ/main course
  • Café coffee — cup price
    1.50 $/cup
  • Single-person monthly budget, rent included
    1000–1500 $/month
  • Solo resident's own lived monthly spend, shared housing
    1000 $/month
  • Couple's short-stay monthly spend ledger, rent included
    2150.49 $/month
  • Rent — furnished 1BR outside the historic centre
    200–800 $/month
Property

Can you buy here, and what it actually takes to do it — ownership rules, structures, and real price bands, not listing-site optimism.

  • Tenure mechanism — direct freehold outside the band
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism legality — direct freehold outside the band
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism legality — government land-reserve lease (OCRET)
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism legality — S.A. corporate structure
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism — bank-trust equivalent (OCRET lease)
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism — S.A. corporate structure
    Yes
  • Compound/gated-development unit price (group-viability precedent)
    162000–430000 $
  • Purchase price range
    650000–1500000 $
  • Purchase price range
    220000–650000 $
  • Transaction-cost load (closing costs)
    5–7 %
Community

Who else lives here, how you'd actually meet them, and what it's like once the novelty wears off.

  • Established foreign-resident population
    1500–1800 people
  • Mugging/assault severity data point
    Yes
  • Permanent-residency processing reliability
    3 years, 4 restarts
  • Subjective community read — over-touristed/fatigue critique
    Yes
Red flags

The hard truths, stated plainly — real risks, sitting right next to everything that's actually going well.

Volcán de Fuego

Volcán de Fuego is 16–18 km from town, and from town it is a view — one of three volcanoes visible from the street. The 2018 deaths were on Fuego's south and south-east flank, below about 2,500 m: the Las Lajas drainage, San Miguel Los Lotes and El Rodeo, in Escuintla. Do not rent or buy there unless you are really into living in the impact zone of an active volcano. Antigua sits on the far side, shielded by Volcán de Agua.

Homicide rate

In the twelve months to March 2026, Antigua Guatemala municipality recorded 11.1 killings per 100,000 people. Guatemala as a whole recorded 16.2. The surrounding department of Sacatepéquez recorded 9.1 — so the town sits below the national rate and above its own department's. All three figures are from the same report, by the Diálogos observatory.

  • President Arévalo — 2023 election mandate and prosecutorial backlog under Porras
    Won over 60% of the vote in the 2023 presidential election on an anti-corruption, reformist platform; under outgoing Attorney General María Consuelo Porras, over 93% of criminal cases — including organized-crime cases — remained unaddressed as of early 2026
  • 2026 institutional reset — judicial/oversight body appointments
    Mixed record: TSE new magistrates finalized by Congress, confirmed in place by 2026-04-29 (exact swearing-in date not confirmed); Constitutional Court reappointment of Roberto Molina Barreto on 2026-03-06 (a real setback for reform); Attorney General replacement of María Consuelo Porras with Gabriel Estuardo García Luna, in office since 2026-05-17 (a real institutional win); Comptroller General nominating-commission representatives elected 2026-08-06, commission installed 2026-08-13, new Comptroller takes office 2026-10-13
  • January 2026 national state of emergency / state of siege
    Declared January 18, 2026, a 30-day 'state of siege' after suspected gang members killed seven police officers in Guatemala City, following prison riots in three facilities where gang-affiliated inmates had taken roughly fifty hostages
  • AML law rewrite (Decreto 15-2026) — legislative passage
    Congress approved the final version June 2, 2026; enters into force ~September 2026; Guatemala's bar association reportedly considering legal challenges
  • National homicide rate (twelve months to March 2026)
    16.2 per 100,000
  • ATM/bank-card cloning scheme
    Yes
  • Diligence risk — organized property-fraud ring (Sacatepéquez dept.)
    Yes
  • Fuego eruption mass-fatality precedent
    Yes
  • Homicide rate (Antigua Guatemala municipality, twelve months to March 2026)
    11.1 per 100,000
  • Homicide rate (Sacatepéquez dept., twelve months to March 2026)
    9.1 per 100,000
  • Fuego proximity — lived day-to-day texture (normal explosion cadence)
    Small explosions roughly every 15-20 minutes is the volcano's normal state, visible from ordinary Antigua street corners
  • Fuego 2018 fatality flank and the siting rule it implies
    The 2018 deaths were on Fuego's south/south-east flank (Las Lajas drainage, San Miguel Los Lotes and El Rodeo, Escuintla) — the danger zone is the south and south-east flank below about 2,500 m; Antigua sits on the far side, shielded by Volcán de Agua
  • Distance from Fuego's summit
    16–18 km from Fuego's summit
Sources
    • AML/beneficial-ownership property-transaction reform (Decreto 15-2026) in force dated 2026-06-02 (passed)
    • AML law rewrite (Decreto 15-2026) — legislative passage dated 2026-06-02
  • Digital Nomad visa converts to permanent residency
    source dated 2026-07-05
    • Digital Nomad visa income threshold dated 2025-10
    • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (remote-active) dated 2026-08-11
    • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (local-active) - local income cannot satisfy the foreign-source bar dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa income threshold dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (pension) dated 2026-09-24
    • Digital Nomad visa - the qualifying income must be remuneration from abroad dated 2026-09-24
    • Digital Nomad visa - income requirement with dependants dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa - income requirement with dependants dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa - currency-conversion documentation requirement dated 2026-09-24
    source dated 2025-10 to 2026-09-24
  • Foreign-buyer overpay premium
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Public social-security health system (IGSS) closed to Digital Nomad/Rentista foreigners
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Investor Visa — asset requirement, Investor Visa converts to permanent residency
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Local private health insurance cost
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Government land-reserve regime shape (OCRET), Restricted-zone lakeshore band, Lakeshore-band applicability (Antigua)
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification, Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    source dated 2026-07-09
  • Private insurance new-enrollment age ceiling
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa converts to permanent residency, Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (passive)
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Tenure mechanism — direct freehold outside the band, Tenure mechanism legality — direct freehold outside the band, Tenure mechanism legality — government land-reserve lease (OCRET), Tenure mechanism legality — S.A. corporate structure, Tenure mechanism — bank-trust equivalent (OCRET lease), Tenure mechanism — S.A. corporate structure
    source dated 2026-07-06
    • President Arévalo — 2023 election mandate and prosecutorial backlog under Porras dated 2026-01-20
    • January 2026 national state of emergency / state of siege dated 2026-01-18
    source dated 2026-01-18 to 2026-01-20
  • 2026 institutional reset — judicial/oversight body appointments
    source dated 2026-08-24
  • Eligible-nationality list — Category A (visa-exempt, 90 days automatic)
    source dated 2026-07-23 checked 2026-09-06
  • Eligible-nationality list — CA-4 freedom of movement (El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua; national ID, no fixed day cap)
    source dated 2006-06 (CA-4 Border Control Agreement signed) checked 2026-09-06
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category B (consular visa required, waived by valid US/Canada/Mexico/Schengen visa), Restricted-nationality list — Category C (consulted visa required, more friction)
    source dated 2026-07-23 checked 2026-09-06
  • Territorial tax system — foreign-sourced income exempt
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • National homicide rate (twelve months to March 2026), Homicide rate (Antigua Guatemala municipality, twelve months to March 2026), Homicide rate (Sacatepéquez dept., twelve months to March 2026)
    source dated 2026-03 checked 2026-09-30
  • ATM/bank-card cloning scheme
    source dated 2026-07-09 checked 2026-09-29
    • Comfortable settled-adult monthly budget dated 2026-07-06
    • Rent — furnished 1BR, historic centro dated 2026-07-06
    • Rent — 2BR apartment, centro dated 2026-03 checked 2026-07-18
    • Rent — restored colonial house (family-sized), centro dated 2026-03 checked 2026-07-18
    source dated 2026-03 to 2026-07-06
  • Compound/gated-development unit price (group-viability precedent)
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Diligence risk — organized property-fraud ring (Sacatepéquez dept.)
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • Distance to Guatemala City / international airport / major hospital
    source dated 2026-09-30 checked 2026-09-30
  • Established foreign-resident population
    source dated 2026-07-08
    • Fuego eruption mass-fatality precedent dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-30
    • Distance from Fuego's summit dated 2026-08 checked 2026-09-30
    source dated 2026-07-06 to 2026-08
  • Purchase price range, Purchase price range
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Mugging/assault severity data point
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • Permanent-residency processing reliability
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • Public hospital system capability
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Subjective community read — over-touristed/fatigue critique
    source dated 2021
  • Transaction-cost load (closing costs)
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Fuego proximity — lived day-to-day texture (normal explosion cadence)
    source dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-30
  • Nature & water-adjacency — no lake/coast/river adjacency
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Climate — year-round mild/spring-like
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Rent — 1BR apartment, historic centro (general market estimate), Rent — two- and three-bedroom apartments, central Antigua (general market estimate), Café coffee — cup price, Single-person monthly budget, rent included, Solo resident's own lived monthly spend, shared housing
    source dated 2025-04-15 checked 2026-09-09
  • Rent — monthly rate actually paid, colonial home in the centre (first-hand, size unspecified), Couple's short-stay monthly spend ledger, rent included
    source dated 2025-04-13 checked 2026-09-09
  • Restaurant meal — comedor plate of the day
    source date not stated checked 2026-09-09
  • Restaurant meal — sit-down restaurant main course
    source date not stated checked 2026-09-09
  • Municipal population — 2018 national census
    source dated 2018 checked 2026-09-30
  • Municipal population — INE projection for 2026
    source dated 2026 checked 2026-09-30
  • Rent — furnished 1BR outside the historic centre
    source dated 2026-09 checked 2026-09-30
  • Fuego 2018 fatality flank and the siting rule it implies
    source dated 2018-06-03 checked 2026-09-30
  • Population with no health insurance (Sacatepéquez dept.)
    source dated 2023 checked 2026-09-30
  • Neonatal intensive care at the public hospital
    source dated 2025-03-28 checked 2026-09-30
  • Cancer treatment at the public hospital
    source dated 2026-01-07 checked 2026-09-30
  • Elevation above sea level
    source dated 2010 checked 2026-09-30
  • One more source is on file here without a public link yet — it dates from 2026-07-05.

Where now?

Ranked next-best alternatives:

Back to the full list · Back to the map