CanILiveThere Who's asking: nobody yet

Atitlán (San Pedro focus) (Guatemala)

Atitlán (San Pedro focus), Guatemala — promising; Climate is a strength, Community & social fabric is the catch.

This is the site's default weighting — you haven't told it what matters most to you, so nothing here is reweighted for you yet.

Overview
  • Public social-security health system (IGSS) closed to Digital Nomad/Rentista foreigners
    Yes
  • Local private health insurance cost
    65–260 $/month
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification
    Same no-titer/no-quarantine framework as dogs, different core-vaccine list
  • Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    No rabies titer required; no quarantine if compliant
  • Private insurance new-enrollment age ceiling
    ~74 (one insurer, unverified); SafetyWing 64–69 (conflicting)
  • Population with no health insurance — national
    Not yet researched
  • Climate — year-round mild/spring-like
    low-to-mid 20s°C day, 13-14°C night
  • Distance to Guatemala City / airport / major hospital
    2.5–3 hours
  • Internet reliability
    usable but rainy-season-fragile
  • Hospitalito Atitlán foreigner/local pricing
    6.70–18.70 $/visit
  • Hospitalito Atitlán system capability
    24-hour emergency care — the only 24-hour facility within a two-hour radius — plus complete obstetric services, general surgery, and specialty care contingent on which specialist is on hand; 896 surgeries in the most recent reported year, including visiting tertiary specialist teams; private nonprofit, funded by patient fees and donations, not government-funded
Visa & residency

How you'd actually get to stay — the real routes, their income floors, and how long they realistically take, not the marketing version.

  • AML/beneficial-ownership property-transaction reform (Decreto 15-2026) in force
    ~September 2026
  • Digital Nomad visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Digital Nomad visa income threshold
    2000 $/month
  • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (remote-active)
    primary_accepted
  • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (local-active) - local income cannot satisfy the foreign-source bar
    explicitly_rejected
  • Investor Visa — asset requirement
    100000 USD (verifiable, from abroad)
  • Investor Visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Government land-reserve regime shape (OCRET)
    geographic-band-substitute
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income threshold
    1250 $/month
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (passive)
    primary_accepted
  • Restricted-zone lakeshore band
    200 m
  • Eligible-nationality list — Category A (visa-exempt, 90 days automatic)
    AD, AE, AG, AR, AT, AU, BB, BE, BG, BH, BN, BR, BS, BZ, CA, CH, CL, CO, CR, CY, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FJ, FR, GB, GR, HR, HU, IE, IL, IS, IT, JP, KN, KR, KW, LC, LI, LT, LU, LV, MC, MG, MH, MK, MT, MX, MY, NL, NO, NZ, PA, PE, PL, PT, PY, QA, RO, RU, SA, SB, SE, SG, SI, SK, SM, ST, TR, TT, TV, TW, UA, US, UY, VA, VC, VU, ZA
  • Eligible-nationality list — CA-4 freedom of movement (El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua; national ID, no fixed day cap)
    HN, NI, SV
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category B (consular visa required, waived by valid US/Canada/Mexico/Schengen visa)
    AZ, BF, BI, BJ, BO, BT, BY, CF, CI, DJ, DM, DO, EC, EG, FM, GA, GD, GE, GM, GN, GQ, GW, GY, IN, JM, KG, KH, KI, KM, KZ, LS, MA, MD, ME, MM, MR, MU, MV, MW, NA, NE, NR, PG, PH, PW, RS, RW, SC, SN, SR, SZ, TD, TG, TH, TJ, TM, TN, TO, TZ, UG, UZ, WS, ZM, ZW
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category C (consulted visa required, more friction)
    AF, AL, AM, AO, BA, BD, BW, CD, CG, CM, CN, CU, DZ, EH, ER, ET, GH, HT, ID, IQ, IR, JO, KE, KP, LA, LB, LK, LR, LY, ML, MN, MZ, NG, NP, OM, PK, PS, SD, SL, SO, SY, TL, VE, VN, YE
  • Territorial tax system — foreign-sourced income exempt
    Yes
  • Remote work performed while physically in Guatemala — tax-source gray area
    Legally unresolved; not currently enforced against digital nomads with foreign clients, as far as any research pass to date has found
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (pension)
    primary_accepted
  • Digital Nomad Visa age gate
    Not yet researched
  • Rentista / Pensionado Visa age gate
    0 years
  • Investor Visa age gate
    Not yet researched
  • Digital Nomad visa - the qualifying income must be remuneration from abroad
    Qualifying income must be remuneration originating abroad (remuneracion proveniente del exterior); income not from abroad cannot satisfy the bar
  • Digital Nomad visa - income requirement with dependants
    US$3,000/month where the applicant is accompanied by dependants, against US$2,000/month otherwise
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa - income requirement with dependants
    US$300/month per dependant, in addition to the US$1,250/month individual minimum -- same figure for rentista and pensionado alike
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa - currency-conversion documentation requirement
    If the qualifying income is received in a currency other than US dollars, a document evidencing its conversion to US dollars must be attached
Cost of living

What a month here actually runs, in real numbers — not a nomad-blog average built for a lifestyle that isn't yours.

  • Foreign-buyer overpay premium
    5–15 %
  • Consumer price index (IPC) inflation rate — Región VI (Sololá) specific
    Not yet researched
  • Land price, one data point
    ~102–103 $/m²
  • Rent — furnished studio/1BR
    150–350 $/month
  • Rent — 2BR, long-term (no resident-paid figure established)
    Not yet researched
  • Short-stay furnished monthly rental — platform average
    ~1419 $/month
  • Rent — one-bedroom-equivalent, San Pedro La Laguna (one transacted monthly rate)
    720 $/month
  • Rent — two-bedroom, long-term lease, Lake Atitlán
    Not yet researched
  • Café coffee price — espresso-based drinks, Panajachel
    15–25 Q
  • Restaurant main dish price — sit-down restaurant, Panajachel
    80–130 Q
  • Total monthly spend — one couple, San Pedro La Laguna (first-hand, two-month stay)
    1100 $/month
  • Rent — 2BR, per-town market band
    250–500 $/month
Property

Can you buy here, and what it actually takes to do it — ownership rules, structures, and real price bands, not listing-site optimism.

  • Tenure mechanism — direct freehold outside the band
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism legality — direct freehold outside the band
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism legality — government land-reserve lease (OCRET)
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism legality — S.A. corporate structure
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism — bank-trust equivalent (OCRET lease)
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism — S.A. corporate structure
    Yes
  • Compound precedent (Panajachel Jucanya, 6-apartment)
    550000 $
  • Lakeshore-band applicability (San Pedro La Laguna)
    inside
  • Proindiviso-subdivision statutory procedure (Decreto-Ley 82-84)
    Yes
  • Purchase price — basic 2BR house
    80000–150000 $
  • Purchase price — lakefront home
    200000–500000 $
  • Purchase price — nice 2-3BR home
    100000–200000 $
  • Tenure mechanism cost — government land-reserve lease (OCRET)
    Not yet researched
Community

Who else lives here, how you'd actually meet them, and what it's like once the novelty wears off.

  • Established foreign-resident population
    ~1000 people
  • Subjective community read — cultural-tension critique
    Yes
Red flags

The hard truths, stated plainly — real risks, sitting right next to everything that's actually going well.

  • President Arévalo — 2023 election mandate and prosecutorial backlog under Porras
    Won over 60% of the vote in the 2023 presidential election on an anti-corruption, reformist platform; under outgoing Attorney General María Consuelo Porras, over 93% of criminal cases — including organized-crime cases — remained unaddressed as of early 2026
  • 2026 institutional reset — judicial/oversight body appointments
    Mixed record: TSE new magistrates finalized by Congress, confirmed in place by 2026-04-29 (exact swearing-in date not confirmed); Constitutional Court reappointment of Roberto Molina Barreto on 2026-03-06 (a real setback for reform); Attorney General replacement of María Consuelo Porras with Gabriel Estuardo García Luna, in office since 2026-05-17 (a real institutional win); Comptroller General nominating-commission representatives elected 2026-08-06, commission installed 2026-08-13, new Comptroller takes office 2026-10-13
  • January 2026 national state of emergency / state of siege
    Declared January 18, 2026, a 30-day 'state of siege' after suspected gang members killed seven police officers in Guatemala City, following prison riots in three facilities where gang-affiliated inmates had taken roughly fifty hostages
  • AML law rewrite (Decreto 15-2026) — legislative passage
    Congress approved the final version June 2, 2026; enters into force ~September 2026; Guatemala's bar association reportedly considering legal challenges
  • National homicide rate (twelve months to March 2026)
    16.2 per 100,000
  • Hiking-trail robbery risk (viewpoint trails, e.g. Indian Nose / San Pedro Volcano)
    Yes
  • Kidnapping/cartel-extortion risk specifically targeting foreigners
    Unverified single mention
  • Foreign/outside ownership share
    ~90 %
  • Planned power outages — frequency
    [GAP — no source found this pass to support a specific frequency claim]
  • Potable tap water access
    No — bottled/purified water delivery is the norm
Sources
    • AML/beneficial-ownership property-transaction reform (Decreto 15-2026) in force dated 2026-06-02 (passed)
    • AML law rewrite (Decreto 15-2026) — legislative passage dated 2026-06-02
  • Digital Nomad visa converts to permanent residency
    source dated 2026-07-05
    • Digital Nomad visa income threshold dated 2025-10
    • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (remote-active) dated 2026-08-11
    • Digital Nomad visa income-type requirement (local-active) - local income cannot satisfy the foreign-source bar dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa income threshold dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (pension) dated 2026-09-24
    • Digital Nomad visa - the qualifying income must be remuneration from abroad dated 2026-09-24
    • Digital Nomad visa - income requirement with dependants dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa - income requirement with dependants dated 2026-09-24
    • Rentista/Pensionado visa - currency-conversion documentation requirement dated 2026-09-24
    source dated 2025-10 to 2026-09-24
  • Foreign-buyer overpay premium
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Public social-security health system (IGSS) closed to Digital Nomad/Rentista foreigners
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Investor Visa — asset requirement, Investor Visa converts to permanent residency
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Local private health insurance cost
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Government land-reserve regime shape (OCRET), Restricted-zone lakeshore band
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification, Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    source dated 2026-07-09
  • Private insurance new-enrollment age ceiling
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Rentista/Pensionado visa converts to permanent residency, Rentista/Pensionado visa income-type requirement (passive)
    source dated 2026-07-05
    • Tenure mechanism — direct freehold outside the band dated 2026-07-06
    • Tenure mechanism legality — direct freehold outside the band dated 2026-07-06
    • Tenure mechanism legality — government land-reserve lease (OCRET) dated 2026-07-06
    • Tenure mechanism legality — S.A. corporate structure dated 2026-07-06
    • Tenure mechanism — bank-trust equivalent (OCRET lease) dated 2026-07-06
    • Tenure mechanism — S.A. corporate structure dated 2026-07-06
    • Lakeshore-band applicability (San Pedro La Laguna) dated 2026-07-06
    • Rent — furnished studio/1BR dated 2026-08-25
    • Purchase price — basic 2BR house dated 2026-07-06
    • Purchase price — lakefront home dated 2026-07-06
    • Purchase price — nice 2-3BR home dated 2026-07-06
    • Rent — 2BR, per-town market band dated 2026-03 checked 2026-08-25
    source dated 2026-03 to 2026-08-25
    • President Arévalo — 2023 election mandate and prosecutorial backlog under Porras dated 2026-01-20
    • January 2026 national state of emergency / state of siege dated 2026-01-18
    source dated 2026-01-18 to 2026-01-20
  • 2026 institutional reset — judicial/oversight body appointments
    source dated 2026-08-24
  • Eligible-nationality list — Category A (visa-exempt, 90 days automatic)
    source dated 2026-07-23 checked 2026-09-06
  • Eligible-nationality list — CA-4 freedom of movement (El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua; national ID, no fixed day cap)
    source dated 2006-06 (CA-4 Border Control Agreement signed) checked 2026-09-06
  • Restricted-nationality list — Category B (consular visa required, waived by valid US/Canada/Mexico/Schengen visa), Restricted-nationality list — Category C (consulted visa required, more friction)
    source dated 2026-07-23 checked 2026-09-06
  • Territorial tax system — foreign-sourced income exempt
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • National homicide rate (twelve months to March 2026)
    source dated 2026-03 checked 2026-09-30
  • Climate — year-round mild/spring-like
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Compound precedent (Panajachel Jucanya, 6-apartment)
    source dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-29
  • Distance to Guatemala City / airport / major hospital
    source dated 2026-07-05 checked 2026-09-29
  • Hiking-trail robbery risk (viewpoint trails, e.g. Indian Nose / San Pedro Volcano)
    source dated 2026-08-25
  • Kidnapping/cartel-extortion risk specifically targeting foreigners, Established foreign-resident population, Subjective community read — cultural-tension critique
    source dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-29
  • Proindiviso-subdivision statutory procedure (Decreto-Ley 82-84)
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Foreign/outside ownership share
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Land price, one data point
    source dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-29
  • Short-stay furnished monthly rental — platform average
    source dated 2026-07-18 checked 2026-07-18
  • Internet reliability
    source dated 2026-07-06 checked 2026-09-29
  • Hospitalito Atitlán foreigner/local pricing
    source dated 2026-07-11 checked 2026-09-29
  • Hospitalito Atitlán system capability
    source dated 2026-07-11 checked 2026-09-29
  • Potable tap water access
    source dated 2026-07-06
  • Rent — one-bedroom-equivalent, San Pedro La Laguna (one transacted monthly rate), Total monthly spend — one couple, San Pedro La Laguna (first-hand, two-month stay)
    source dated 2025-04-13 checked 2026-09-09
  • Café coffee price — espresso-based drinks, Panajachel
    source date not stated checked 2026-09-09
  • Restaurant main dish price — sit-down restaurant, Panajachel
    source date not stated checked 2026-09-09
  • 2 more sources are on file here without a public link yet — the most recent dates from Not stated.

Where now?

Ranked next-best alternatives:

Back to the full list · Back to the map