CanILiveThere

Puerto Vallarta (Mexico)

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico — a stretch; Nature & water-adjacency is a strength, Income viability is the catch.

Overview
  • Public health-insurance enrollment (IMSS) — public-system backstop
    500-700/year; excludes cancer, chronic degenerative disease, HIV, addictions, mental illness $/year
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification
    No rabies-titer test or quarantine required (same core rules as dogs); cats do NOT need a SENASICA import permit, unlike dogs
  • Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    No rabies titer required; no quarantine if compliant
  • Private health insurance — new-enrollment age ceiling
    ~65 (some plans 60-65)
  • Private health insurance cost (expat)
    520–1230 $/year
  • Residency visa — mandatory health-insurance requirement
    No nationwide mandate from the immigration authority (INM); consulate-dependent, increasing for Europe/Canada/some US jurisdictions
  • Minimum wage (2026)
    315.04–440.87 MXN/day
  • Gig/platform-worker social-security (IMSS) mandate, effective 2026
    Yes
  • Remote-employee wage-zone rule (Mexican-registered employer)
    Applicable minimum-wage zone set by the employer's registered social-security (IMSS) location, not employee's physical residence
  • Nearshoring-linked FDI investment scale (2023-2025)
    114 $ billion, cumulative nearshoring-linked investment announcements 2023-2025
  • Digital-nomad/remote-worker population scale
    ~1.6 million Americans resident in Mexico as of mid-2025; CDMX captured ~14% of global digital nomads 2020-2023
  • Remote work on tourist (FMM) status — legal gray area, not aggressively enforced
    Legally ambiguous (not explicitly authorized under tourist status)
  • Distance to emergency care
    Hospital CMQ confirmed — two Puerto Vallarta locations, 24/7 ER; a second named hospital ("Amerimed") could not be confirmed
  • Local perception vs. state-level risk
    [GAP — specific survey percentage dropped 2026-08-24, unverifiable]
  • Nature/water adjacency — Bahía de Banderas, direct coastal access, whale season
    City sits directly on Bahía de Banderas (one of the world's largest bays); humpback whale migration season Dec 8-Mar 23 (peak Jan-Feb); snorkeling/diving access including Marietas Islands marine sanctuary directly from the city's port
  • Walkability — Old Town/Zona Romántica
    Old Town/Zona Romántica described as walkable and condo-friendly
  • Internet speed - SpeedGEO Puerto Vallarta
    45.1 down / 34.4 up Mbps

Recent change events

2026-08-24 — A Puerto Vallarta safety entry understated a named cartel figure's actual rank, and separately relied on shakier sourcing for a reward figure and family-relationship detail about him; both are now corrected to match reliable reporting. safety severity 1
The entry previously described this figure only as a local leader in the Puerto Vallarta area. A direct re-read of the article cited for that finding shows a bigger claim: US authorities rank him tied for the group's national second-in-command. Separately, the reward figure and the family-relationship detail attached to him are real, but weren't sourced well enough — one citation for them couldn't be verified and was dropped, and the family-relationship detail had been misread from a passage in the same article that's actually about a different named individual. Both are now correctly sourced elsewhere. This doesn't change the site's safety score for Puerto Vallarta — the underlying risk was already reflected in that score.
2026-07-07 — Judicial Reform Phase 2 continues Mexico's judiciary overhaul; rule-of-law concerns not yet reflected in red-flags stability severity 2
The next judicial election (postponed from 2027 to 2028) continues an overhaul that already replaced nearly all federal and state judges by popular vote. Documented concerns include USMCA objections and organized-crime/political-elite influence risk on a less-professionalized judiciary. Not yet reflected in the country's own red-flags file; a task was filed to address it.
Visa & residency

How you'd actually get to stay — the real routes, their income floors, and how long they realistically take, not the marketing version.

  • Diligence risk — ejido-land fraud rate (Quintana Roo specifically)
    15–20 % of foreign transactions
  • Permanent Residency direct-from-abroad restricted to retirees/pensioners
    Yes
  • Property tax (predial) rate
    0.05–0.3 % of assessed value/year
  • Restricted Zone (coastal/border)
    50km coast / 100km border
  • Restricted Zone regime shape
    geographic-band-substitute
  • Tax residency trigger / worldwide-income taxation
    183 days/year
  • Temporary Resident Visa accepts passive income as qualifying proof
    Not yet checked
  • Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (remote-active)
    primary_accepted
  • Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (pension)
    primary_accepted
  • Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (ordinary passive)
    primary_accepted
  • Temporary Resident Visa converts to permanent residency
    Yes
  • Temporary Resident Visa income threshold
    4300–4800 $/month
  • Temporary Resident Visa savings/investment alternative
    73000–85000 $
  • Tenure mechanism cost — fideicomiso
    2000-3000 $ (setup)
  • Tenure mechanism — fideicomiso bank trust
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism legality — fideicomiso
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism legality — Mexican corporation
    legitimate
  • Tenure mechanism — Mexican corporation
    Yes
  • Eligible-nationality list — SAE electronic pre-authorization (air-entry only, replaces full visa)
    RU, TR, UA, BR
  • Visa exemption cancelled (Venezuela)
    VE
  • Tourist entry - third-country-visa facility (valid US/CA/JP/UK/Schengen visa waives Mexican visa)
    Holders of valid multiple-entry US, Canada, Japan, UK, or Schengen visas -- or permanent residence in those countries -- enter without a Mexican visa
  • Eligible-nationality list — general visa-exempt tourist entry (FMM), up to 180 days
    AD, AE, AR, AT, AU, BB, BE, BG, BO, BS, BZ, CA, CH, CL, CO, CR, CY, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FM, FR, GB, GR, HK, HR, HU, IE, IL, IS, IT, JM, JP, KR, LI, LT, LU, LV, MC, MH, MO, MT, MY, NL, NO, NZ, PA, PL, PT, PW, PY, RO, SE, SG, SI, SK, SM, TT, US, UY
  • Temporary Resident Visa — nationality restriction
    No
  • Temporary Resident Visa age gate
    Not yet researched
  • Temporary Resident Visa documentation shape
    Income route: roughly $4,300-4,800/month in verifiable income, commonly demonstrated via 6-12 months of consecutive bank statements, with the exact figure varying ±5-10% by consulate. Savings/investment alternative: a single statement showing roughly $73,000-85,000 USD in savings/investments, held for the required look-back period, in lieu of monthly income — the two methods cannot be combined or blended; an applicant must qualify entirely under one or the other.
Cost of living

What a month here actually runs, in real numbers — not a nomad-blog average built for a lifestyle that isn't yours.

  • Comfortable single budget
    1600–2800 $/month
  • Rent — furnished 1BR
    800–1400 $/month
Property

Can you buy here, and what it actually takes to do it — ownership rules, structures, and real price bands, not listing-site optimism.

  • Tenure mechanism — ejido pre-dominio-pleno land
    Yes
  • Tenure mechanism legality — ejido pre-dominio-pleno land
    Not yet checked
  • Rent — 2BR apartment
    20000–55000 MXN/month
  • Rent — family-sized 2-3BR, family-favored zones
    20000–35000 MXN/month
  • Cheaper-tier purchase price
    Not yet researched
  • Restricted-zone applicability (Puerto Vallarta)
    inside
  • Purchase price — condos
    ~408000 $
Community

Who else lives here, how you'd actually meet them, and what it's like once the novelty wears off.

  • Established foreign-resident population / community read
    Not yet researched
Red flags

The hard truths, stated plainly — real risks, sitting right next to everything that's actually going well.

  • Judicial Reform Phase 2 (direct judicial elections)
    Yes
  • USMCA 2026 review outcome
    Trilateral joint review held July 1, 2026 — no consensus to automatically extend the agreement for a further 16 years; US opted for annual reviews instead, citing trade-deficit concerns
  • Peso currency stability, explicitly tied to USMCA review risk
    Traded in a narrow 17-18 MXN/USD band through 2026 so far, backed by over USD 257 billion in international reserves; risk framed as binary and directly tied to the USMCA outcome — an acrimonious breakdown could push the pair toward 20+
  • Political continuity — Sheinbaum administration
    Sheinbaum (Morena) won a strong 2024 mandate; no near-term election, coup, or leadership-crisis risk — next presidential election is 2030
  • Foreign direct investment (FDI) resilience despite USMCA uncertainty
    23.6 $ billion, Q1 2026 record US FDI
  • CJNG succession conflict
    unsettled
  • Jalisco safety advisory tier
    US State Dept Level 3
  • CJNG's Mendoza Gaytan ("El Sapo") named national second-in-command, not merely a city plaza boss
    Hugo Gonzalo Mendoza Gaytan ("El Sapo") named by US authorities as CJNG's national second-in-command (tied with since-captured Audias Flores Silva, "El Jardinero") under new top boss Juan Carlos Valencia Gonzalez ("El Pelon"/"El 03"), following El Mencho's Feb 2026 death -- a materially bigger claim than a single city's plaza boss. Separately, he has led CJNG's "Los Deltas"/"Los Michoacanos" armed cell covering the Jalisco/Nayarit coast (Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta, Bahia de Banderas, Sierra Occidente, Valle de Jalisco) since 2017 -- Feb 2026 reporting (pre-dating the national-rank news) named him CJNG's Puerto Vallarta-specific regional chief. Carries a $15 million US reward (DOJ/State Dept, announced 2026-08-05) and is reported -- per Mexico News Daily citing US court filings, not independently primary-source-verified -- to be a godson of El Mencho.
Sources
  • Diligence risk — ejido-land fraud rate (Quintana Roo specifically)
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Public health-insurance enrollment (IMSS) — public-system backstop
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Permanent Residency direct-from-abroad restricted to retirees/pensioners
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Pet import (cat) — species-specific requirement verification
    source dated 2026-07-09
  • Pet import (dog) — rabies titer / quarantine requirement
    source dated 2026-07-08
    • Private health insurance — new-enrollment age ceiling dated 2026-07-11
    • Private health insurance cost (expat) dated 2026-07-05
    source dated 2026-07-05 to 2026-07-11
  • Property tax (predial) rate
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Residency visa — mandatory health-insurance requirement
    source dated 2026-07-11
  • Restricted Zone (coastal/border), Tenure mechanism legality — fideicomiso
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Restricted Zone regime shape
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Tax residency trigger / worldwide-income taxation
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (remote-active), Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (pension)
    source dated 2026-08-11
  • Temporary Resident Visa income-type requirement (ordinary passive)
    source dated 2026-08-11
  • Temporary Resident Visa converts to permanent residency
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Temporary Resident Visa income threshold, Temporary Resident Visa savings/investment alternative
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Tenure mechanism cost — fideicomiso
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • Tenure mechanism — ejido pre-dominio-pleno land
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • Tenure mechanism — fideicomiso bank trust, Tenure mechanism legality — Mexican corporation, Tenure mechanism — Mexican corporation
    source dated 2026-07-05
  • USMCA 2026 review outcome
    source dated 2026-07-01
  • Peso currency stability, explicitly tied to USMCA review risk
    source dated 2026-07
  • Political continuity — Sheinbaum administration
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • Foreign direct investment (FDI) resilience despite USMCA uncertainty
    source dated 2026-05/07
  • Eligible-nationality list — SAE electronic pre-authorization (air-entry only, replaces full visa)
    source dated 2026-02-05 checked 2026-07-17
    • Visa exemption cancelled (Venezuela) dated 2022-01-22 checked 2026-07-17
    • Eligible-nationality list — general visa-exempt tourist entry (FMM), up to 180 days date not stated checked 2026-07-23
  • Tourist entry - third-country-visa facility (valid US/CA/JP/UK/Schengen visa waives Mexican visa)
    source dated 2026-07-17 checked 2026-07-17
  • Minimum wage (2026)
    source dated 2026-01-01
  • Gig/platform-worker social-security (IMSS) mandate, effective 2026
    source dated 2026-01-01
  • Remote-employee wage-zone rule (Mexican-registered employer)
    source dated 2026
  • Nearshoring-linked FDI investment scale (2023-2025)
    source dated 2025
  • Digital-nomad/remote-worker population scale
    source dated 2026-04-05
  • Remote work on tourist (FMM) status — legal gray area, not aggressively enforced
    source dated 2026
    • Rent — 2BR apartment dated 2026-07-18 checked 2026-07-18
    • Rent — family-sized 2-3BR, family-favored zones dated 2026-07-18 checked 2026-07-18
    • Rent — furnished 1BR dated 2026-07-08
    source dated 2026-07-08 to 2026-07-18
  • CJNG succession conflict
    source dated 2026-02-22 (killing); 2026-06 (still unsettled)
  • Distance to emergency care
    source dated 2026-08-24
  • Jalisco safety advisory tier
    source dated 2026-07-08
  • CJNG's Mendoza Gaytan ("El Sapo") named national second-in-command, not merely a city plaza boss
    source dated 2026-08-24
  • Purchase price — condos
    source dated 2026-01
  • Nature/water adjacency — Bahía de Banderas, direct coastal access, whale season
    source dated 2026-07-19
  • Walkability — Old Town/Zona Romántica
    source dated 2026-07-19
  • Internet speed - SpeedGEO Puerto Vallarta
    source dated 2024-10 to 2025-09 (measurement window)
  • 5 more sources are on file here without a public link yet — the most recent dates from Not stated.

Where now?

Ranked next-best alternatives:

Back to the full list · Back to the map